California Imposes Regional Stay-at-Home Order
California Imposes Regional Stay-at-Home Order

On December 3, 2020, California Governor Gavin Newsom announced a new regional stay-at-home order.

Under the order, California is divided into five regions: Northern California, Greater Sacramento, Bay Area, San Joaquin Valley and Southern California. Regions where the ICU capacity has gone over 85% will be placed into a Stay-at-Home order for a minimum of three weeks. After the three-week period, reopening of closed services will be based on four-week projections of regional ICU capacity.

Southern California and three other regions are anticipated to reach 85% or more ICU capacity in early December. Under the stay-at-home order, personal services businesses, hair salons, bars and wineries will be fully closed for the duration of the Stay-at-Home order. Retail (at 20% capacity), critical infrastructure and schools that have received a waiver will all remain open.  Restaurants may be open for take-out and delivery.

Additionally, all non-essential travel is temporarily restricted across the state of California.

During the press conference announcing the order, Newsom also discussed relief measures for businesses that were announced on November 30. These measures include a three-month sales tax deferral, a hiring tax credit for businesses and new COVID relief grants for small businesses.


Recent Posts




Jump to PageX

ECJ uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website, to better understand how our website is used and to help provide security. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies. For more information see our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.