Posts from April 2016.
New Law Expands California's Paid Family Leave and State Disability Insurance

Approximately 15 years ago California became the first state to provide paid time off to workers to care for a new child or ailing family member.  The law, which is funded by required worker contributions, provides for up to 6 weeks of wage replacement in connection with certain qualifying events, which events include the temporary disability of an individual worker, caring for certain family members, bonding with a minor child within one year of

birth, or the placement of a child in connection with foster care or adoption.  This week Governor Jerry Brown expanded that law by signing ...

Governor Brown Signs New Minimum Wage Increase Into Law

On Monday Governor Brown signed Senate Bill 3, a bill which will gradually increase minimum wages in California in a manner that is very similar to the Los Angeles ordinance, except that the state increases will not be complete until 2023 (the Los Angeles increases begin on July 1, 2016 with a $10.50 per hour requirement for businesses with 26 or more employees and will continue until the rate reaches $15 per hour on July 1, 2020; Los Angeles allows that smaller businesses with 25 or fewer employees will have an additional year to match the increases).   The first increase starts next year on ...


Recent Posts




Jump to PageX

ECJ uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website, to better understand how our website is used and to help provide security. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies. For more information see our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.