CalSavers Deadline Approaches for Mid-Sized Companies to Register or Certify as Exempt
CalSavers Deadline Approaches for Mid-Sized Companies to Register or Certify as Exempt

The CalSavers Retirement Savings Program (CalSavers) was established to assist the estimated 7.5 million California employees without employer retirement savings plans. Mandatory compliance is phased-in over time and depends on the size of the employer. The current phase requires all California employers with 51 to 100 employees to register with CalSavers or certify that they are exempt by June 30, 2021. More specifically, employers without employer-sponsored retirement plans must register to begin offering the state-mandated employer retirement plan to their employees. Those employers offering retirement plans to their employees need only certify that they are exempt. The link to the CalSavers website to register or certify as exempt is here.

The deadline for employers with more than 100 employees was September 30, 2020. Those employers who missed this deadline should register as soon as possible.

Smaller employers with 5 to 50 employees must register by June 30, 2022. Regardless of their applicable registration deadline, however, the state encourages eligible employers of any size to register at any time; indeed, registration has been possible since July of 2019.

An employee’s CalSavers account is a Roth IRA, which contributes sums earned after tax withholdings. The default savings rate is 5% of an employee’s gross pay and employees can change that rate at any time. Once an employer registers for CalSavers, its employees will be auto-enrolled after 30 days and will begin saving through payroll contributions unless they opt out. An employee can opt out or back into the program at any time. An employee’s CalSavers account is portable and will belong to the employee even if he or she changes jobs. California employers are not required to make contributions to the retirement account.

Penalties per eligible employee apply for failure to comply without good cause.  Within 90 days of a non-compliance notice, eligible employers failing to allow eligible employees to participate in CalSavers are subject to a penalty of $250 per eligible employee, and if found to be in non-compliance 180 days or more after the notice, an additional penalty of $500 per eligible employee applies.

The author would like to gratefully acknowledge the assistance of Joanne Warriner.

This publication is published by the law firm of Ervin Cohen & Jessup LLP. The publication is intended to present an overview of current legal trends; no article should be construed as representing advice on specific, individual legal matters, but rather as general commentary on the subject discussed. Your questions and comments are always welcome. Articles may be reprinted with permission. Copyright 2021. All rights reserved. ECJ is a registered service mark of Ervin Cohen & Jessup LLP. For information concerning this or other publications of the firm, or to advise us of an address change, please send your request to info@ecjlaw.com.

Tags: CalSaver

Subscribe

Recent Posts

Blogs

Contributors

Archives

Jump to PageX
Close

ECJ uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website, to better understand how our website is used and to help provide security. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies. For more information see our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.